no asking going on

No-Soliciting

Word: “Why is it you do not have? Because you do not solicit God.” (James 4:2)
Wonder: There are not any “No Soliciting” signs around the throne of God. Quite the
opposite, actually; he encourages us to ask of him, for he longs to bless us. However,
there are probably some “No Soliciting” signs posted around our heart. There are
matters about which we think “There’s no use asking about that, for he’ll never
hear me.” As to some things, we think “I’ve asked about that before or knew of
others asking and so, there’s no reason for me to ask now.” And on a multitude
of matters, we’re not even aware of the fact we ought to be asking about them,
and so there can’t be any soliciting going on.

Word: “Why is it you do not have? Because you do not solicit God.” (James 4:2)

Wonder: There are not any “No Soliciting” signs surrounding God’s throne in heaven. Quite the opposite, actually; he encourages us to ask of him, for he longs to bless us. However, there are probably some “No Soliciting” signs posted around our heart. There are matters about which we think “There’s no use asking about that, for he’ll never hear me.” As to some things, we think “I’ve asked about that before or knew of others asking and so, there’s no reason for me to ask now.” And on a multitude of matters, we’re not even aware of the fact we ought to be asking about them, and so there can’t be any soliciting going on.

So what might happen if we got serious about asking ourselves about what we’re asking of God?

One thought on “no asking going on

  1. The question of “what might happen if…” has been one that I’ve asked myself many times. I’m guilty of not asking God certain things. Moreover, I often pray to God for something and all along my heart is not believing there will be an answer. I learned on one occasion when I suppose I was the most fervent I had ever been in prayer, that I had to accept the answer that was opposite from what I had prayed. For years I felt guilty for not praying with a believing heart and felt my failure in petitioning God. Its difficult to pray for matters that appear out of reach, but of course they aren’t out of reach for the Lord.

Leave a Reply

