look at the books

Books

Jesus did much more. If all that he did was recorded, I suppose world would not be big enough for the books that would be written. (John 21:25)

Word: And Jesus did much, much more. If all that he did was recorded, I suppose the world would not be big enough to hold all the books that would be written. (John 21:25)

Wonder: Jesus Christ. Consider the multitude of reflections on the meaning and significance, effects and essence of this one, brief life that was lived centuries ago.  No other life lived on this earth has ever generated anything even close to the quantity of  literature that has resulted from consideration of his life. No other life has ever been so closely scrutinized. And there appears to be no let up or end to it all. What does this say to you regarding faith in him?
One thought on “look at the books

  1. What it tells me is that that Jesus, his church, his religion are very complex. It tells me that a multitude of authors have written what they think they know about Him and the original piece of literature written on the subject. It tells me also to be very careful about what literature I pick up to read and what a fellow human being is trying to tell me about Jesus’ life and teachings. There is really on one book, The Holy Bible that tells the story of Jesus. All the others are mere conversation and debate. With multitudes of books being written about Jesus and his life, a much smaller number will come close to the truth and not one will have the exact truth. For that reason, I must be very selective of my reading and depend most on The Bible for my reference and my faith in God, not morals.

Leave a Reply

