reaching up to heaven

Tower

Word: If you decide to build a tower, what is the first thing you do? You sit down and calculate the cost to see if you have enough money to get it done. For you know if you lay the foundation and are not able to finish the project, you’ll become the butt of every joke in town as people say, ‘They started building, but couldn’t finish the job.’ … In the same way, you must give up everything you have to be my disciple. (Luke 14:28-30,33)
Wonder: Count the cost of building your life on Jesus Christ. If you start construction with him, see the project through. Just as a tower half-built is of no use to anyone, the Lord has no use for anyone who is his only halfway. Determine to stretch out your hand to heaven and never stop reaching up to him. What will you partner with him in today to develop a body, soul and spirit that towers above your days gone by?

Word: If you decide to build a tower, what is the first thing you do? You sit down and calculate the cost to see if you have enough money to get it done. For you know if you lay the foundation and are not able to finish the project, you’ll become the butt of every joke in town as people say, ‘They started building, but couldn’t finish the job.’ … In the same way, you must give up everything you have to be my disciple. (Luke 14:28-30,33)

Wonder: If you start a construction project with God, you need to see it through. Just as a tower half-built is of no use to anyone, the Lord has no use for anyone who is his only halfway. Determine to stretch out your hand to heaven and never stop reaching up to him. In what will you partner with him today toward the development of a life that towers above your days gone by?

2 thoughts on “reaching up to heaven

  1. I want Jesus to be my foundation. The only way to do that is to partner with Him. With Jesus as my foundation, the burdens of the world will not cause me to crumble. With Jesus as my foundation, I can be a support to others, just as He is to me.

    Kim

  2. Everything I do with God today will further my life with Him for surely what I do today will tower over past attempts. When building this tower to God, as Kim has already pointed out, my foundation in Jesus is crucial to the strength of the entire structure. My partnership with Him has not always been easy for my energies are weak and my mental state at times are hopeless. My Christian family influence my life with how important it was for me to continue reaching for Jesus which is our goal. I am the first to admit that my tower has come under harsh scrutiny, even mocked and made fun of as I stopped at times along the way ready to give up. Our “tower” is continually under construction with pauses and even stops along the way. Eventually, because of a firm foundations set by our ancestors, I have the tools to get back to the task. It is with the help and support of my fellow builders and Jesus’ spirit that I can continue to toward my goal. As I look up I see Jesus there stretching His hand down to me in an attempt to save me from plummeting to my death. All I/we have to do is reach up, taking His hand, to be saved from our fall. If I look away I run the risk of losing my grip, but I have faith that my Lord will catch me. Our eyes must always refocus on Jesus in order to complete the tower we are building.

Leave a Reply

