eyes to see

fedexground1Word: I am praying that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened so that you may know the hope to which he calls you, how rich and  glorious an inheritance it is we share as his people, and how tremendous are the resources of his power that are available to those of us who trust him. (Ephesians 1:18-19a)

Wonder: What do you see in the FedEx logo: the word “FedEx” or the “arrow” between the “E” and the “x?” Few are aware of, or notice, both. What sort of things do you suspect you might come to see if you began to steadily pray for God to open your eyes to the fantastic abundance of real life we have in his Son, both in the ‘here and now’ and in the ‘then and there?’ What might you become aware of in yourself and in others that you have not really noticed before?

7 thoughts on “eyes to see

  1. Like the word FedEX, we tend to “express” through life. With God in our life, we tend to slow down to appreciate the small things and count our blessings more always looking ahead to our reward He has promised us.
    Always, count your blessings, both big and small.

  2. I love the scripture quoted from Ephesians the phrase of “eyes of my heart'” I was hindered by my GERD , a reoccuring problem that I rather not claim. I have been thinking on my 25 random things about me..Bill said you preached a good sermon. I need to get the tape, I love writing without paragraphs. I told Stef that my friend and spiritual advisor got me on Facebook. Thanks! Am I supposed to just talk about your homily on this space. You see I still have a lot to learn

    1. Lois, you’re doin’ fine. This reply area is specifically for this site (my picture blog), but I got the message. “Never, never, never, never give up.” You’re a real source of encouragement to me! 🙂

  3. I am sure that I would see my own mistakes and downfalls that I need to work on in my daily life, but most importantly, my Christian walk. I pray that I would see the “needs of others” not just the downtrodden of life, but be more aware of the needs both physical and spiritual needs of my brothers and sisters. Many times we aren’t aware that our brothers and sisters are struggling with their own spiritual warfare and then when they quit coming to church, we don’t call to find out where they are or how we can help. I pray that as I grow stronger in the Lord and mature as a Christian, that I can see more ways to help others. We as God’s people, MUST get out of our comfort zone and look for ways to touch other peoples lives if we are truly committed to doing the will of our Father.

  4. to become aware requires that we slow down to take the time to listen and observe, to read between the lines. This doesn’t just happen. To notice the deeper rhythms or meanings, we must pay attention more closely, listen to what is not said as much, if not more, than what is said. I think it takes a stilling of our souls that many of us have a hard time doing. We move among solitude, community and ministry as Henri Nouwen suggests.

  5. I am going to comment on the conforming or not..I never tried to conform to our culture in overt ways. I tried to be quiet when I was in the midst of worldly situations, but I agonized in one situation and wondered could I fit if I didn’t have diamonds, furs, and luxury cars. I don’t mean this as sounding holier than thou, but I finally decided I didn’t fit and I didn’t want to. Now I do have friends that much more worldly goods, but we have in common is Jesus Christ. As the kids say

  6. I’m back, the sentence I didn’t finish is “As the kids say…that’s cool. and one other thing I do try to conform in the way I dress…just have to tell the truth. This Facebook is a truth machine!

Leave a Reply

