of toys and troubles

img_8943-large

“We played the pipe for you, but you did not dance; we sang a dirge, but you did not mourn.” (Matthew 11:17)

“God has marked out every nation’s appointed time and boundaries so that we would seek him and perhaps reach out for him and find him, though he is never far from any of us.” (Acts 17:26-27)

God blesses us with good things, but we often remain ungrateful, thinking we have either earned or deserve such things. He sometimes allows those things to be swept away, and yet, we still may not seek him, thinking him uncaring or even cruel. What honestly causes you to truly seek the Lord most often – the blessings you enjoy or the hardships you endure? Why?

4 thoughts on “of toys and troubles

  1. As a younger Christian, I would usually seek God only in the hard times to pray for deliverance. Now, I realize that we all go through the storms of life, some are just small annoying storms and some are life shakers! Recently, with Phil’s mom SO sick for so long, I learned that God gives us the storms — and IF we remain faithful and unshaken from our faith — we can praise him on a higher level for being there for us before the storm, through the storm and after the storm. As for me, my “theme song” is “Thank You Lord” and I am so thankful that we have a Saviour who is always there for us.
    In Christian Love,
    Anna Freeman

  2. There have been both good and bad times in my life that have triggered me to seek God. If I’m to be honest though, it’s the hard times that cause me to really dig deep and seek Him. It seems that in those times I encounter things that are beyond my understanding and in response I’m led to ask all of the “why” questions. It’s awesome that even though we may face circumstances that are “earth-shaking”, God is right there. If you look to Him, He will turn that “earth-shaker” into a faith-builder. God’s power to overcome is amazing.

  3. “What honestly causes you to truly seek the Lord most often – the blessings you enjoy or the hardships you endure? Why?”

    The answer in my life is, both. When I am going through a particularly tough time like the death of a loved one, financial burdens or I am in a spiritual low; I pray in earnest to God for help. When I look around and realize God answers my prayers, when I am with friends or family who care about me, I feel blessed. When God brings me through a storm, I often pray a prayer of thanks to God for those times as well. For me it really does not have to do as much with actual “things” I have as much as it does with people I know that causes me to be blessed. When people leave or let me down, that is when I tend to cry out to God and ask him “what next?” It is people and what they do or say or how they influence my life, whether in good times or bad, who causes me to seek the Lord most often.

    The picture here reminded me of a song, “My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus’ blood and righteousness; ….On Christ, the Solid Rock, I stand; All other ground is sinking sand, All other ground is sinking sand.”

  4. There was a phase of my life when prayers of thankfulness were offered because everything seemed to be “perfect.” I remember one day in particular I felt “perfectly” blessed, (aren’t we always, everyday anyway?) and thought, I can’t believe this. How long will it continue?” As life would have it, it didn’t continue and problems, difficult issues, strife entered in. I am thankful for those “perfect” times and for those not so perfect times, but truthfully, the difficult, stressful phases seem to bring closer to God. He is the only thing that makes sense. His Life Skill Book keeps me in touch, reassures, fills me with humility, grace, comfort. Who else can I lean on and trust? I pray that I never waiver His perfect love, whether in “perfect” or difficult phases of life!

Leave a Reply

