I remind you

Read 2 Timothy 1:6-14.

If you can read this passage without having to pick your jaw up off the floor when you’re through, then you read it too quickly. Take one more moment to slowly read and reflect on seven truly astounding statements Paul makes in this paragraph. Allow me the liberty to re-shuffle them slightly so as to highlight what they have to say about the past, present and future work of God in our lives as Christians.

Past

“… grace was given us in Christ Jesus before the beginning of time …” (vs.9)

“… God … saved us … not because of anything we have done …” (vs.9)

“… Christ Jesus … has destroyed death and has brought life and immortality to light …” (vs.10)

Present

“… the Spirit God … gives us power, love and self-discipline.” (vs.7)

“… join with me in suffering for the gospel …” (vs.8)

“… the Holy Spirit … lives in us.” (vs.14)

Future

“… I know whom I have believed, and am convinced that he is able to guard what I have entrusted to him until that day.” (vs.12)

Only one word comes to mind: Wow!

Heavenly Father, never let me forget these things! Before you made me, you were providing for me. Before I arrive to be with you forever, you are preserving what I place in your hands. And here and now, you are working on me, in me and through me to do your good will. How could you love me so? Why would you go to such lengths for me? May I, in Jesus’ name, so live my life as to say without reservation or doubt to all: “You rule!” Amen.

