guard

Read 1 Timothy 6:20-21. Or here, let me make it all the easier for you this time:

“Timothy, guard what has been entrusted to your care. Turn away from godless chatter and the opposing ideas of what is falsely called knowledge, which some have professed and in so doing have departed from the faith. Grace be with you all.”

As a Christian, I must always be on alert. Because I am a part of the way called “the faith,” I know there are opposing forces all around me. They are bent on diverting me from my mission. They want to distract me so that I pay attention to everything except that which has been entrusted to my care. They constantly mess with my mind with false information in an attempt to undermine my will to fight for what I believe in. They are not only clever, but powerful forces for they have already taken some of my comrades prisoner and have succeeded in brainwashing them. By the grace of God, I have not fallen victim to their tactics and by the grace of God and my firmness of faith, I never will. But I must ever stay on guard for I know this world is anything but my friend.

Father in heaven, you know that I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, potential death to my soul, every day. I trust your provision, leadership and mission. In Christ’s name, help me to keep my mind fixed on you and my allegiance ever to you.  May I never be led astray by meaningless talk or ungodly living, even if such is found within the ranks of your army. I will always be yours. Semper fi. Amen.

