with tears

Read Philippians 3:18-21.

What is the great power of this word from God to you today?

Is it the remarkable claim as to the fantastic power of Jesus?

“… the power that enables him to bring everything under his control …”

Is it the declaration of the unimaginable work Christ will perform some glorious day?

“… transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body.”

Is it the picture of sheer horror of someone inexorably heading for disaster?

“Their destiny is destruction …”

Is it the reminder of the mind-numbing folly of those who have set themselves up against the very Lord of unlimited power and unspeakable grace?

“… many live as enemies of the cross of Christ. …  their god is their stomach, and their glory is in their shame. Their mind is set on earthly things.”

Surely it is all of these things, and more, but the words that strike me most this morning are Paul’s words regarding his feelings about some being  “enemies of the cross” …

“I have often told you before and now tell you again even with tears, many live as enemies of the cross of Christ.”

With tears.

Perhaps you need to pray as I do.

Heavenly Father, may the parts of my heart that are very sensitive to you and the message of your Son never become callous. May the parts of my spirit that have become hardened by the callousness of others to my Lord and the message of him, be re-softened. May the parts of my soul that I have toughened, unwittingly or deliberately, thoughtlessly for my own “protection,” may they be re-sensitized. May I not be spared agony over the souls of others, but ever grow in awareness of the full meaning of your sharing your Heart with us all. Amen.

