without grumbling

Read Philippians 2:12-18.

Man, I hate it when he does that! Did you hear him call me out like that? Right in front of God and everyone; right in front of the whole church. Who does he think he is to tell me to:

“Do everything without grumbling …” (vs.14)

Does he think I’m not aware of my own failings? Do I not have enough to work on about myself already? I mean, I’m here paying attention to God. Isn’t that enough? “Do everything without grumbling …” Now let me tell you who does a lot of grumbling …

(sigh)

Holy, heavenly Father, help us today, in Jesus’ name, to keep our mouths shut and our hearts open. May we join you in your good work of shaping us into something pure and blameless. May the only grumbling that happens within us today happen in our stomachs. Amen.

