value others above yourself

Read Philippians 2:1-4.

When I practice valuing others above myself, I find more encouragement and joy in my life and sense more deeply my union with Christ, for, after all, it is then that I am best imitating what Christ did for me.

When I deliberately look first to the interests of others and not to those of my own, God’s comfort envelopes me, for it then that I am, after all, most like him in his loving ways.

When I practice valuing others above myself, I honor the continuing work of God’s Spirit who desires to draw me closer to himself and to others so that our lives become a thing commonly shared, a life of with one spirit and one mind.

When I deliberately look to the interests of others and not to those of my own, I see two the things I want to see grow in me most of all – tenderness and compassion – do just that, and, simultaneously, see two things I want to see vanish from my life – selfish ambition and vain conceit – recede.

And when my mind and my habits are fully given over to truly counting more important the concerns of others than my own concerns, then, and only then, am I living in the way of the humility of my Lord Jesus Christ.

Father in heaven, may the “Amen” in my life today be a consistent statement of “Yes” to the opportunities I have to put others before myself. May that show in every way. From the way I drive to the way I converse, from the way I work to the way I relax. Help me to put my “I” in its proper place.

