to fill the whole universe

Read Ephesians 4:7-16.

I’m struck here with the comprehensiveness of Paul’s description of things in Christ. Jesus Christ is everything to all who are in him. Jesus is everything a person needs and every thing a person needs is found in him.

  • The grace Christ has dispensed has been doled out “to each one of us.” (vs.7)
  • Christ’s rule is “higher than all the heavens” and “fill the whole universe.” (vs.10)
  • Christ has fully equipped his people, his church, with the very people and abilities it needs to serve as it needs to serve in this world and this provision will continue “until we all reach unity in the faith and in the knowledge of the Son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ.” (vs.13)
  • In Christ, we are shielded from Satan’s deceptions and his powerful attacks through his human pawns so that “the whole body” (vs.16) can “grow up into him who is the head, that is, Christ.” (vs.15)
  • Christ has a purpose for every part of his body, the church, so much so that it can be said that “every supporting ligament, grows and builds itself up in love, as each part does its work.” (vs.16)

I’m reminded of the words of a song we often sing together:

“Jesus is all the world to me, my life, my joy, my all. He is my strength, from day to day, without him I would fall.”

Amen!

In Jesus’ name I approach you, Heavenly Father, praising you for your greatness and completeness. Truly, there is none like you or your Son! Nothing that needs doing escapes your eye and through your Son, you have gifted us, your people, with whatever is required to get your kingdom’s work done. Continue to patiently work with us, in us, on us, and through us to mature us into the part of your Son’s body that you want us to be in fullness. For the praise of your name through the strengthening of your body, your people, I pray. Amen.

