continue

Read Colossians 1:21-23.

This passage speaks two things loud and clear – a word of wonder and a word of warning, both being words good news to us.

First, the word of wonder – our reconciliation with God is not dependent on our perfection, but Christ’s. “… he has reconciled you by Christ’s physical body through death to present you holy in his sight.” (vs.22) Our past thoughts, behavior and distance from him matter not at all (“…  alienated … enemies … evil …” – vs.21). What matters is that the holy Christ himself has wholly gone to every length necessary – namely, his own death on a cross – to secure our salvation. We can never be good enough on our own to “deserve” being counted holy in God’s sight. However, we are the recipients of this free gift of his – his own, perfect life in our place. And this gift – himself – secures our salvation. In sum, our salvation as a Christian is as certain as the deity of Jesus. Can there possibly be better news on earth? Hardly!

Second, the word of warning – what is expected of  us as recipients of this gift of reconciliation with God is to never leave him. Faith is a journey and perseverance is required. “… continue in your faith, established and firm, and do not move from the hope held out in the gospel.” (vs.23) And it is this news that makes the journey very, very good – “… this is the gospel …” – we, paupers and debtors in spiritual rags, have received the privilege of walking humbly with his Royal Highness, God himself, throughout all creation for eternity. How then could we ever leave him, once we have come to recognize him for who he is and what he has done for us? How we should be motivated then to become “servants of” this good news! Hear it again – our eternal reconciliation with God goes on as we continue on with the eternal God.

Heavenly Father, in Christ’s name, you stopped down and picked me up as I lay fallen down beside the road, smeared with the filth of my own sins. You revived me, cleaned me up, nursed me to health and dressed me in new, fine clothes. And then invited me to continue down the road with you. How could I otherwise! Wherever you lead, I will follow. Do this one thing more for me, I pray – when the way turns difficult again, remind me of what you have done for me. This will be good news enough for me. Amen.

Leave a Reply

