there is now no condemnation

Read Romans 8:1-8.

I am a wretched person; and so are you. There is nothing good that leaves in me in my flesh. Nor in you. For we all have missed the mark; we all have fallen short of our Maker’s glory. On this planet there is not one righteous person; no not one.Yet Paul now says:

“… there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus …”

Could words more fantastic be spoken? Hardly! What words could possibly give me more confidence to live, yet simultaneously call me to the greatest of humility? None!

Now these words are the true reality for Christians who are following Jesus; they are not a mere dream or distant hope. They defy all that we see in ourselves and in the world around us, but we trust they are true. We, the unholy, can now stand in the holy God’s presence and not be banished. Astounding!

But how can this possibly be? The explanation is no less astounding:

“… God … sent his own Son in the likeness of sinful humanity to be a sin offering …” (vs.3)

To stand in in this greater truth, this most freeing truth available to humankind, is God’s great desire for us all and he has made it possible by his greatest sacrifice of all for us. These greatest words speak of the greatest God’s greatest gift to our greatest need. Indeed!

So how shall we as Christians respond? There can only be one way to respond to such amazing words: we”… do not live according to the sinful nature but according to the Spirit.” (vs.4)

“… there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus …”

My God and Father in heaven, I stand in your presence because of what you have done for me through Jesus Christ. Increase my faith, Father, that I may live my life in a way fitting with your great grace and mercy. I am undeserving of your great mercy, but I accept it and ask for my mind to be controlled by your great Spirit of mercy and not by me. Amen.

Leave a Reply

