the commandment is holy

Read Romans 7:7-13.

There’s nothing wrong with what God expects of me. For all that is wrong in me, God is not the one to blame. No, the parameters he places around me and the guides he gives me to follow are nothing good.

But I forget, I am not all good. And so when he gives me guidance, there wells up within something that says, “I’ll do what I please, thank you.” When he says, “Don’t do this,” a part of me says, “Just watch me!”

I would do well to remember the holiness of God and the strength of his word. To remember the power of sin and my place. To consider my end if I continue to follow my own will, not his, namely, death, through and through.

Holy God, my heavenly Father, ever remind me that you surround me with your will for my own good. In the name of Jesus, may I live out that good for your glory. Amen.

Leave a Reply

