and yet do the same things

Read Romans 2:1-16.

This passage asks two questions and anytime the Bible asks a question, rest assured, God is looking for some serious “class participation.” So, sit up in your seat and respond to these two questions with me.

” … when you … pass judgment on [others] … and yet do the same things, do you think you will escape God’s judgment?” (vs.3)

Well, my mind jumps to answer “Of course not,” but when I stop to truly think this question over, apparently at times I must be saying “Yes,” or else I would surely become a far less judgmental person!

” … do you show contempt for the riches of his kindness, forbearance and patience, not realizing that God’s kindness is intended to lead you to repentance? (vs.4)

Again, my “shoot-from-the-hip answer is “No way;” however, after reflection, I know full well that when I deny God’s mercy for someone else, I have become blind to his leading me to change my own ways into more of the likeness of his own – kindness!

I’m busted – on both charges! And so are you.

Father God in heaven, I all too often and too easily forget that the way I look at and deal with others is a reflection on riches of your goodness. As you are kind, I must be kind. As you are forbearing, I must be forbearing. As I crave your patience with me, help me to be quite patient with others. In Jesus’ name, help me when I see others to see you, to the end that that I might act more in ways becoming of you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

