our dealing with you

Read 2 Corinthians 13:1-4.

No, this isn’t one of the most pleasant passages in your Bible. It’s not exactly “devotional” in nature either, is it? But this it is – a crystal clear reminder that sin is not to be taken lightly! Sin must be confronted, for sin is an affront to our Holy Father and a disease of the soul – with eternal consequences! – for those caught up in it.

The confrontation must be loving, after all, it is meant for blessing, not “payback.” It is not something done lightly or based on questionable witness. It is not something to be rushed into and true mercy makes room for time for repentance. But it is something that must be done at times; sin must be dealt with in the life of a church family. For that’s what loving Christian leaders do.

My Father in heaven, you alone are good and holy. So let me not taint your name by ignoring the sins that are in my life and not truly doing something about them. Nor may I be guilty of not loving my brothers and sisters when I see them snared by sin. May I love them with whatever means you show that can have the possibility of freeing them from the ways that hold them captive. Give me wisdom, with both of your holy, strong hands, as to just exactly how to love so as to truly help, and not to harm, I pray, in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

