proved to us in many ways

Read 2 Corinthians 8:22-24.

I don’t know his name. I don’t know what he did. I don’t know where he was from. I don’t even know how long he lived or if he had a family. But what I do know of him powerfully speaks to me as to how I ought to live my life as a Christian today.

He was a “brother.” He had a vital, authentic connection with Christ and his church. When an apostle thought of him, only a word that spoke of that relationship – brother – seemed fitting.

His passion was obvious. He was “zealous” in what he did for the glory of God and the blessing of his people.

His ways were proven ones. His zeal was no flash in the pan; it was time-tested. His life was an ongoing  demonstration of a consistent, burning heart for God.

He believed in other Christians. Christians who could stumble, falter, let you down and be fickle. Still, he placed his confidence in those who believed and that confidence surely helped others grow up in their believing, made them less fickle, strengthened their weak knees and enabled others to take more steps toward God.

God my Father in heaven, in Jesus’ name, let my life grow to become more like this Christian. May it be your name people remember when they see me; may it be your preeminence they see when they watch my life. Amen.

Leave a Reply

