renewed day by day

the word

“Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.” (vs.16)

the meaning

“… here Paul thinks of the daily renewal of Christian existence, which is not guaranteed by an act of faith, or by baptism, in the past, but continues only in virtue of continual contact with the Lord.” (Barrett, p.147)

my prayer

Father God, just as you continue the life of my body by causing the growth of new cells to replace those that die, so to you renew my inner being as I stay in touch with you. You renew my body, but I must eat and breathe, work and rest, for this to happen. If I neglected these things you would let me die. Likewise, you call me to exercise my soul, breathe your Spirit, work out my own salvation and rest in you, that my spirit might be daily renewed. May I not neglect these things, so that I might live. Let me not lose heart. In Christ’s name I ask. Amen.

Leave a Reply

