meerkat manor

Hmmm, let’s see, when God washed the earth clean once before he saved more critters than he did people. He must like critters. Deep fried or grilled, I wonder? Bad joke, I know.

I like animals, too (preferably grilled). But among those I enjoy watching rather than eating, the meerkat has been number one on my list for a long time. Now, wouldn’t you know the Animal Planet has a series going on Friday nights that is all about meerkats. This show was made for me! Meerkat Manor.

Seems as how a group from Cambridge University followed a group of meerkats around in the Kalahari Desert in southern Africa for ten years(!), filmed their every move and then let meerkat life unfold, from a meerkat’s perspective, before your very eyes via the Tube. If you do any TV tonight, you could do a lot worse than this, but you might want to get up to speed a bit on “who’s who” in the plot before you watch.

