relay for life results

Relay for Life was last night and this morning. We had thirty folks on our MoSt Church team, the first time we’ve done this as a church effort on our own. And we raised $4,333. Simply fantastic!

I started walking about 7:15 p.m. Friday night and walked 45-50 minutes out of every 60 until about 12:30 p.m. Took a break until 2:00 and then walked nonstop from then until I quit at 5:15 a.m. Saturday morning. A total of 105 laps (27 1/4 miles) was my effort. [What’s really humbling about that is knowing that the wife of my fishin’ buddy here at church has run about that same distance three times already this year in just 4+ hours each time!]

Went home, showered, finally relaxed enough to go to sleep between 7:30 and 8:00 a.m. The neighbors’ weedwaters/mowers woke me up at 10:00 a.m. Life goes on, by God’s grace.

Three things I have learned afresh from all of this experience: (1) every day of life is a day of great grace and is a blessing to be returned back to Him, (2) we’re all in this thing together, and (3) man alive, I’m even far more out of shape than I had even thought. I can’t wait until next year’s Relay – that is, if I can just walk across the room now!

