hot, fresh sermons comin’ up

Right after Easter Sunday, April 16, I plan to deliberately pick up with where the book of Acts left off: “preaching the kingdom of God” and “teaching about the Lord Jesus Christ” (Acts 28:31). I’ll do that two ways.

First, God willing, I’ll preach on some of the most difficult words Jesus spoke, a sermon series entitled The Tough Stuff. The question Jesus asked in John 8:46 will shape the theme of this series: “If I am telling the truth, why don’t you believe me?”

Second, I’ll deliver a number of sermons that will grow out of recent readings in the Gospels in our Know His Voice project. That particular series will be entitled And Be Set Free, based on the concept Jesus encapsulated in John 8:32 (“You will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”).

These two sermons series will not be preached consecutively, but will be intertwined with each other, perhaps one sermon from one series one week, and another from the other series the next, etc. Either way, in both series, we’ll be in the Gospels and precisely focused on what our Lord Jesus explicitly said about this or that.

I’m excited about the possibilities of what God can do with us through the portions of his word that will be shared in these two series. I hope you are, too! Let’s admit our need for Jesus’ guidance, submit to his leadership and commit ourselves to his discipleship!

