oxford history of Christian worship

What am I reading these days? I always have several books going at once (sort of like a plate-spinner), but there’s one I’m about to begin that I’ll be chipping away at a handful of pages at a time through the remainder of this year – The Oxford History of Christian Worship [OHCW] edited by Geoffrey Wainwright and Karen B. Westerfield Tucker.

Why this particular book? The breadth and depth of Christian worship as expressed through the ages across the planet is something I’ve never read in detail before and I simply decided I was long past due to do so. This particular book is the latest and greatest along these lines of thought, too. So, between this book, Reviving the Ancient Faith: The Story of Churches of Christ in America by Richard Hughes, The Creed: What Christians Believe and Why It Matters by Luke Timothy Johnson, Inheriting Wisdom by Everett Ferguson, Early Christians Speak: Faith and Life in the First Three Centuries (vol.2) by Everett Ferguson, The Oxford Dictionary of Saints edited by David Farmer and Documents of the Christian Church edited by Henry Bettenson and Chris Maunder, you can easily surmise that this is a year of emphasis on church history for me. I like to center a segment of my reading throughout the course of each year around a particular topic or Biblical book. I like to think of such as an inexpensive equivalent to taking a college course on the subject.

As I come across quotes worth sharing from OHCW (and the others, too, for that matter), expect to see some of them pop up as posts here.

