Inspiration & question – Luke 12:13-21

Inspiration

(13) Someone in the crowd said to him, “Teacher, tell my brother to divide the inheritance with me.”

(14) Jesus replied, “Sir, who made me to be a judge or an arbiter over you?”

(15) Then he said to them, “Watch out! Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; life isn’t made up of having lots of things.”

(16) Then he told them this story: “There was a rich man who had some land that produced a big harvest. (17) He thought to himself, ‘What can I do? I don’t enough space to store all my grain and goods.’

(18) “Then he said, ‘This is what I will do – I will tear down my existing barns and build bigger ones. Then I will have room to store all my grain. (19) And I will say to myself, “You have plenty of grain stored up for many years to come. Take life easy. Eat, drink and be merry.” ’

(20) But God said to him, ‘Fool! It is your life they are requiring you to surrender tonight. Then who will get all that you stored up for yourself?’

(21) “This is what will happen to people who store up things for themselves but are not wealthy in what matters to God.” (Luke 12:13-21 DSV ~ The rich fool)

Question

1. How were inheritance disputes typically resolved in that time and by whom in that culture?

2. What else does Jesus have to say about greed and materialism in Luke’s Gospel?

3. How were productive rich people commonly perceived by the masses in Palestine at that time?

4. Because of his windfall, the rich man makes plans (vs.18-19). How do these plans compare to the typical “American dream” today.

5. Jesus says there are “all kinds of greed.” What kinds of greed are there?

6. What should the rich man done instead of hoarding his harvest in order to be “rich toward God?” In this context, what does it mean to be “rich toward God?”

7. Who calls Jesus “teacher” in Luke’s Gospel?

