The man in black

The first album I ever owned was a recording of Johnny Cash’s 1969 live concert at San Quentin. My Aunt Jo, quite a red-headed character herself, gave it to me (much to the dismay of my parents) right after we had acquired our first record player.

I about wore that vinyl out, fascinated with this character from Kingsland, AR named Cash, and the words to the songs that he wrote/sang. Take for example some of the lyrics to Folsom Prison Blues:

When I was just a baby, my mama told me, ‘Son,
always be a good boy; don’t ever play with guns.’
But I shot a man in Reno, just to watch him die.
When I hear that whistle blowin’, I hang my head and cry.

This man in black remained a source of fascination to me the rest of his days. So, you know, with the release of a movie about his life (Walk the Line) in the coming days, I’ll be sitting in a movie theatre somewhere. If you’d like to read an interview from a Christian perspective of Joaquin Phoenix and Reese Witherspoon (who play Johnny & June Carter Cash in this movie) along with the director James Mangold, you can do so right here.

