My Wayside Hymn

Wednesday evening I shared with you Scriptures that are especially dear to my heart as a Christian. You know I am a bit of a private person and so, find it difficult at times to say very personal things publicly. But you bore with me and so, I greatly appreciate your gentle hearing and patience.

So, for better or for worse, the following have been/are some of my “wayside hymns.” Following are my notes from what I shared that evening (more complete than what I was able to share with you that night). May God bless your spirit, as he has mine, with His Spirit as you search out the meanings of the words of his Spirit in these Scriptures below. Amen.

The night I decided to become a Christian, two passages stood out vividly in my mind: Acts 2:39 and Philippians 2:10-11.

Two passages that made a profound impression on me in some of my earliest days as a Christian were: Ephesians 1:3-4 and 2 Peter 2:20-22.

My “first favorite verse,” particularly as I began to realize just how great a task lay ahead for me in being a Christian was: Philippians 4:13.

Three passages that have become sort of personal “purpose statements” in my life are: Ephesians 6:6b, 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 and 2 Peter 1:3-11.

At times when I have seriously wrestled with sin in my life, several passages have often come to mind: Luke 15:21; Luke 18:13; 2 Corinthians 4:10; 2 Corinthians 10:5 and Philippians 3:13-14.

At times when I have felt very low and useless in my life as a believer or in ministry as a minister, two passages have consistently encouraged me: 1 Corinthians 15:58 and Galatians 6:9.

Three passages, and a song based on a fourth passage, never cease to ‘inspire’ me. They are some of my very favorites that I drink from often: Ephesians 2:1-10, Titus 3:3-7, 1 Peter 1:3-9 and the song The Steadfast Love of the Lord, which is based on Lamentations 3:20-26.

